header trans

Wenger, Long, Seplak, Duncan, Deavers Pick Up FALS Cup Wins

Results | Points | Story & Pictures by Rocky Ragusa

Watters Ag presented the “Bob Harty Memorial” as the Fairbury Speedway held a FALS Cup weekly program. Saturday’s feature winners were McKay Wenger (Late Model), Michael Long (Modified), Nick Seplak (Stock Car), Tommy Duncan (Sportsman), and Brian Deavers (Hobby-Modified).

wenger lmMcKay Wenger grabbed quick time honors with a lap of 12.927 seconds as 26 Late Model drivers made qualifying attempts. Wenger, Ryan Unzicker, and Donny Walden won their respective heat races. The B-main went to Kevin Weaver. After setting the pace early in the 30-lap, $2,500-to-win feature, Unzicker slowed on lap eight with engine issues to bring out the yellow flag. Wenger inherited the lead with Jeffrey Ledford, Jake Little, Allen Weisser, and Myles Moos running in the top five. Wenger was able to distance himself from the competition as Weisser quickly took over second. Weisser cut Wenger’s lead to 10 car lengths before a caution fell with 10 laps to go. On the restart, Weisser made several bids for the lead, but Wenger slammed the door and pulled away from the pack. Another caution light came out with three laps to go, but on this night, Wenger proved to be too much as he recorded his second straight FALS Cup win and sixth overall. “We didn't need all those cautions,” explained Wenger. “It was a fine line between overdriving it or not getting in there hard enough and pushing off the corners. I was getting frustrated with all the cautions and was about ready to go to the top and blow the deck out of it. I knew at that point it would be easier to run the cushion than the bottom.” Weisser finished in second as Kyle Hammer, Ledford, Moos, Rich Bell Jr., Lyle Zanker, Brayton Wallace, Dale Markham, and Alex Wilson completed the top ten.

long mdStarting in the second spot, Michael Long took the lead at the start of the 25-lap Modified race and went on to take his fourth win at Fairbury and 13th overall. “I am very thankful for how the year has been going,” spoke the Fowler native. “The car was a little snug on the initial throttle. It was good on the bottom once the top got crummy. Then I moved down and it was good. With the lapped traffic, I had to go back to the top. If I hit it right, I was good.” Points leader Austin Friedman gave Long a run for his money, but the lapped traffic spoiled his run, and he had to settle for second. Zeke McKenzie got past Michael Ledford in the closing laps for third. Mike Chasteen Jr. took fifth, with Caden McWhorter, Landen Miller, Alan Stipp, Lyndon Whitfill, and Ray Bollinger rounding out the top ten. A stout field of 30 Modifieds saw first-year racer Landen Miller turn a lap at 13.772 seconds for fast time. Friedman, Long, and Ledford won heats. The B-main went to Bob Pohlman Jr.

seplak scFormer track champion Nick Seplak took the lead from Cody Clubb with two laps to go in the Stock Car feature and went on to earn his first Fairbury win of the year in a hard-fought race. The rest of the top ten had Joe Brown, Braiden Keller, Devin Hoskins, Kyle Anderson, Kraig Hughes, Lee Joseph Hall, Nathan Lynch, and Derrick Weiand finish in that order. Clubb was the quick qualifier with a lap of 15.862 seconds. The heat race wins went to Clubb and Brown.

duncan spTommy Duncan continues to dominate in the Sportsman class as he led flag-to-flag for his fourth feature win of the season. Joel Funk moved into second after another favorite, Steve Mattingly, dropped out with mechanical issues. Funk tried the top and bottom of the track, but Duncan stood his ground for the win. “The track is really fast,” Duncan said. “It has a lot of character to it, especially on the bottom.” As a show of support, Duncan donated a portion of his winnings to Jeff Semmens and his family as they face health problems. Funk, Robert Saltzman, Aaron Reid, Doug Carls, Tyler Roth, and Mattingly completed the finish. Roth escaped injury as, on lap five, he violently rolled his car. Duncan won the heat race, while Carls set fast time in qualifying with a time of 15.531 seconds.

deavers hmThe 12-lap Hobby-Modified race went to Brian Deavers over Jace Gall, Dylan Turpin, Gavyn Parmele, Jake Bachtold, Reid Gall, Jake Green, Coltin Grace, Billy Bolen, and Rick Thomas. Deavers was quick qualifier with a time of 15.425 seconds. Deavers and Turpin won their respective heat races.

copyright trans