header trans

Babb Picks Up Flag-to-Flag Win in FALS Frenzy Opener

Long, Parga Also Victorious on First Night of Frenzy

Results | Story & Pictures by Rocky Ragusa

The Fairbury Speedway hosted a two-night FALS Frenzy event presented by Edelman Electric to close its season. MARS Late Models, DIRTcar Modifieds, and DIRTcar Pro Late Models were featured in the weekend finale. Shannon Babb (Late Model), Mike Harrison (Modified), and Jose Parga (Pro Late Model) were the first to the finish line in their respective classes.

babb lmStarting in the third position for the 40-lap, $5,000 to win MARS Late Model Series race, Shannon Babb used the bottom of the track and raced his way into the lead on the opening lap. Polesitter Ryan Unzicker challenged Babb for the lead, but by the fifth lap, Babb began to pull away from the field. Babb went on to claim his second win of the year by 1.7 seconds over Unzicker. Tanner English held off World of Outlaws points leader Dennis Erb Jr. for third, and Ryan Gustin finished in fifth. Mike Spatola, Brian Shirley, 14th starter Jason Feger, McKay Wenger, and Billy Moyer Sr. completed the top ten. 36 Late Model drivers made qualifying attempts. Donny Walden led the first group with a lap of 12.327 seconds. Billy Moyer Sr.’s time of 12.451 seconds paced the second group. Unzicker, Babb, Gustin, and English took heat race wins. Dewayne Kiefer and Justin Duty were the semi-feature winners.

long mdPolesitter Michael Long jumped out to the lead in the 25-lap Modified race and never looked back in taking the $1,500 check for his third win at Fairbury and sixth overall. “The car was good all night,” Long stated. “We threw the ballpark at it and it paid off.” Mike Harrison would finish second, followed by Mike McKinney, Austin Friedman, Allen Weisser, Bobby Stremme, Mike Learman, Alan Stipp, Michael Ledford, and Tom Pasek. 31 Modified drivers went under the clock in qualifying. Long set quick time with a 13.493 second lap. Long, Friedman, and Harrison took heat race wins. Ethan Weber was the semi-feature winner.

parga plmDevin McLean appeared to be on his way to victory in the 20-lap, $750 to win Pro Late Model race. With three laps to go, McLean jumped the cushion in turn two. Jose Parga was able to capitalize and secure the win. “I hated to see that happen to Devin,” said Parga, the DIRTcar Pro Late Model National Champion. “One mistake was all it took.” A dejected McLean took second, followed by Brad DeYoung, Bob Gardner, and Josh Boller. The rest of the top ten had Amber Crouch, Chad Osterhoff, Aaron Heck, Matt Hammond, and Corey Ausra finish in that order. A field of 32 teams vied to make the feature race. DeYoung led group one qualifiers with a time of 13.683 seconds. Gardner’s time of 13.444 seconds led group two. McLean, Parga, Gardner, and Boller took heat race wins. The semi-feature went to Blake Damery.

copyright trans