Golf Cart Rules

General Rules That Apply Every Race Night

  1. All drivers must be at least 16 years old.
  2. No 4 wheeler or “gator” type vehicles are allowed outside of the pit area. GOLF CARTS ONLY in the general admission area.
  3. General admission area and pit area vehicles are restricted to their respective areas after the pits are closed to the public.
  4. A reasonable, slow (approximately 5 mph) speed limit will be in force at all times.
  5. No carts allowed between the back stretch bleachers and the fence, on the horse track in front of the grandstands, and anywhere posted “NO GOLF CARTS”.

Special Event Rules

  1. All “general” rules apply.
  2. All general admission area golf carts must be registered to be allowed on the property. A $10.00 seasonal registration fee will apply.
  3. All golf carts not staying on the premises overnight need not be registered but must be parked in the designated areas outside of the 1st and 2nd street gates for general admission or in the designated area outside the 3rd street gate for pit admission.
  4. All general admission area golf carts must be parked on race nights from 4:00 p.m. until sunrise and from sunset until sunrise on non-race nights.
  5. All pit area golf carts, 4 wheelers, etc. must be parked from 30 minutes after the conclusion of the last race until sunrise.
  6. Special exemptions to the rules for special needs will be considered if applied for in writing in advance. Applications must be received by FALS at P.O. Box 74, Fairbury, IL 61739 at least 1 week prior to the event.

Anyone violating the above rules may forfeit their right to operate their vehicle on our property and may be required to “load up” or remove their vehicle immediately at the discretion of the FALS officials.


Thank You from the FALS staff.

Approved and endorsed by the Fairbury American Legion John Post #54 & Fairbury Fair Board

New Weekly Format for Late Models & Modifieds to Start the 2O13 Season

The Fairbury American Legion Speedway is excited to announce a new weekly format for the start of the 2013 racing season. In long winter discussions between drivers, fans, officials, and directors, FALS has decided to implement the new “Fairbury Format”. This format will be used for all FALS weekly & non-sanctioned events throughout the 2013 season. This new format hits a lot of different areas between racers and fans and will continue the great racing we are all accustomed to seeing at Fairbury. The Street Stock and Sportsman divisions will also utilize this format on each of their special nights this season. Street Stocks and Sportsman will pill draw for position on regular nights as in the past. Details on the new Fairbury Format are as follows:

Changes to Prairie Dirt Classic Weekend Race Program

In anticipation of the biggest weekend in FALS history, race officials have announced they are removing Friday’s $500 to win Sportsman special as well as Saturday’s $500 to win Street Stock special from the Prairie Dirt Classic Weekend events program. With extremely large car counts expected in the UMP Modified division as well as the World of Outlaws Late Models, FALS officials feel like it’s in the best interest of all of our drivers involved to keep as much room in the pit area as possible for the large haulers anticipated for this weekend. With limited space available and very limited options for overflow pit parking, this was the main reason for the race committee’s decision.

Ticket & Camping Information

As most of the regulars know we have a large demand for seats and camping spots on our marquee weekends and we feel like our 2013 Prairie Dirt Classic World of Outlaws (July 26th & 27th) weekend could be one of the largest events ever held at FALS. The Fairboard and Race Committee have listened to our fans (customers) and have been hard at work making plans for that weekend. In an effort to reduce the large bottleneck of campers getting on the fairgrounds, we have come up with the following guidelines to allow campers in for the three major weekends. Those major weekends will be: June 22nd UMP Summernationals, July 26th/27th WoO Prairie Dirt Classic, and August 31st AMS/UMP Modified Nationals.

Non-Qualifiers Feature to become the 4th Annual Prairie Dirt Shootout

The Prairie Dirt Shootout will continue its tradition on the World of Outlaws 24th Annual Prairie Dirt Classic weekend, FALS officials announced today. The $2,000 to win, 25-lap feature will consist of the top 20 Late Model drivers that did not transfer through the consolation races. These weekend events, which are scheduled for Friday, July 26 & Saturday, July 27, will be the third largest purse on the World of Outlaws schedule this season.

A Shootout purse of over $12,000 will be on the line in the finale of the 2013 Prairie Dirt Classic weekend. Official Late Model payouts have been posted on the website. Any drivers interested in pre-registering can do so by emailing the speedway at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . This will allow drivers to get seasonal updates leading up to this prestigious event. The World of Outlaws will be the official sanctioning body and will register and tech all cars. Event information including reserved seating and camping will be available soon. Stay close to the website for all the up-to-the-minute Prairie Dirt Classic information.