Weaver Rallies, Dehm Takes an Emotional Win

by Rocky Ragusa

Prior to Saturday night’s “Alkota Keep It Clean” series race, the Fairbury American Legion Speedway family paused to remember Fairbury Fair-Speedway president, Jim Schahrer. Before the feature races all race cars came out onto the speedway and did a polish victory lap in honor of “Griz”.

Kevin Weaver overtook Derek Chandler on the 10th lap to win the 30-lap UMP Late Model feature. While working thru lapped traffic, Ryan Unzicker and Scott Bull challenged Weaver several times for the top position, but Weaver held on for his second win of the year. In victory lane Weaver commented, “I want to thank my crew. We have been working on our Bill West car and it’s getting better. The motor is a little weak but we will probably bring our Bob Pierce car next week. I have to thank Jay Morris and Jimmy Johns. We get a lot of support from them. Last week we ran the top and tonight I was on the bottom, except the last ten laps." Unzicker, Bull, Torin Mettille, Joe Harlan, Eric Smith, Mike Mullvain, Derek Chandler, Daren Friedman, and Mike Glasscock rounded out the top ten. Jay Morris finished 13th to win the race’s hard charger. Chandler bested 22 other drivers in qualifying with a 13.023. Chandler, Smith, and Mettille won heat races.

In the 20-lap UMP Modified race, Lance Dehm had a good run coming off of turn two with three laps remaining and took the lead from Jay Ledford. Dehm pulled away to take the win and pick up his second win of the year and 51st career win at Fairbury. Dehm was visibly upset in victory lane said, “This is for the Schahrer family. Mark, I feel for you. We will hang in there.” Mark Schahrer is the brother to Jim Schahrer and a member of the Dehm pit crew. Ledford had led the race until the left rear spring came out of his car. Ledford put up a fight, holding off Jeff Curl and Dehm, but Dehm was not to be denied on this night. Ledford, Jim Farris, Curl, Jeb Friedman, Jared Cagley, Andrew Funk, Dave Porth, Dan Rork, and Cullen Breeden completed the top ten. Cagley was the hard charger of the race. Dehm’s time of a 14.203, was tops over 18 other competitors. Porth and Ledford won heat races.

Jimmy Dehm overpowered his competition and took his fourth feature win in the 15-lap UMP Sportsman race. “The track was pretty good tonight. I was searching up top for a while. I don’t know if it would have held up the whole race. I went to the bottom and my dad told me I had a lead going so I decided to stay there and not risk the top. Thanks to all the fans for coming out. Thanks to all my sponsors and Alkota for the series,” said Dehm. Richard Craven, Richie Rich, Tim Bohm, Dustin Mounce, Paul Graf, Jeffrey Ledford, Jim Bailey, Ron Bohm, and Amber Crouch took the top ten positions. Tim Bohm was the hard charger of the race, while Rich and Dehm won the heat races.

With three laps to go in the 15-lap UMP Street Stock race, Matt Maier stuck his nose under Rick Thomas to take over the point. Thomas tried several times to retake the lead but Maier held on to win his first career street stock race at Fairbury. Thomas, Nick Clubb, Don Hilleary, Alex Clubb, Lon Franks, Darrin Kohler, A.J. Meiferdt, Lee Hall, and Eric Gaus completed the top ten. The hard charger went to Lee Hall. Hilleary and Thomas took heat wins.